(since 2016)

New Anton Bruckner Complete Edition (since 2016)

Ed. International Bruckner Society in cooperation with the Austrian National Library
Patronage: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra



Symphony No. 1 in C minor


Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major


Symphony No. 8 in C minor



Since 2016 a new critical edition of the complete works of Anton Bruckner has been published by Musikwissenschaftlicher Verlag of Vienna. Published jointly with the International Bruckner Society in cooperation with the Austrian National Library, it will include newly edited scores of the entire corpus of Bruckner’s work.

Editorial Board

Prof. Dr. Paul Hawkshaw (Yale University)
Prof. Dr. Benjamin M. Korstvedt (Clark University)
Dr. Thomas Leibnitz (International Bruckner Society)
Dr. Andreas Lindner (Anton Bruckner Institute, Linz)
Dr. Angela Pachovsky (Musikwissenschaftlicher Verlag)
Dr. Thomas Röder (Würzburg University)

Advisory Board

Dr. Mario Aschauer (Sam Houston State University)
Prof. DDr. Otto Biba (Archive of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, Vienna)
Univ.-Doz. Mag. Dr. Barbara Boisits (Austrian Academy of Sciences)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Hinrichsen (Zurich University)
Prof. Dr. phil. Siegfried Oechsle (Kiel University)
Prof. Dr. Larry Todd (Duke University)


The Project


The New Anton Bruckner Complete Edition will include all of the composer’s works in newly edited scores in a uniform format. Each volume will be based on the most up-to-date research and take into account all sources that have come to light in recent years.


The new edition is founded on decades of experience publishing the complete works of Anton Bruckner and on long-standing collaboration with the most important institutions in the field of Bruckner research. The Editorial Board of Bruckner experts and specialists with years of editorial experience has developed uniform publication guidelines incorporating the most modern practices. Renowned Bruckner specialists from around the world have been selected to edit the individual works. An Advisory Board composed of scholars of the highest calibre will perform the important function of external monitor.


All volumes will appear as large-format conductor’s scores; corresponding performance material will also be available. The new publications will be designed for practical use and will include readable Critical Reports explaining all editorial decisions. Each volume will contain a detailed introduction with information about the sources, genesis and reception history of the work; pertinent issues concerning its performance; and the difference between the reading in the New Anton Bruckner Complete Edition and that of earlier publications. The Critical Reports will contain more detailed information about the sources as well as a practical listing of conflicting readings and editorial choices. To meet the needs of an international public, all the texts are to be printed in German and English.


The New Anton Bruckner Complete Edition will also include, for the first time, a comprehensive supplement containing sketches, fragments, drafts and studies, thus providing an indispensable tool for the serious study of Bruckner’s work and its compositional process.


The most important features in brief:


  • All volumes reflect the latest research and the most up-to-date editorial criteria
  • All volumes are in full score, 24.5 x 33 cm, with thread-stitched impressed cloth binding
  • All volumes include a detailed Source Critical Report
  • All volumes contain an extensive foreword in German and English
  • Musical graphics are in accordance with the latest style and standards

Related Information

Invitation to subscribe

PDF, 4 pages, 3MB