Complete Edition (until 2014)

Requiem, masses and Te Deum


Requiem in D minor (1849)

Edited by Leopold Nowak (1966)
Revised new edition by Rüdiger Bornhöft (1998)


Soli (SATB), mixed chorus, orchestra, organ
0,0,0,0-1,0,3,0-Str-Org / 37'


B 14-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-203-0


B 14-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-202-3


B 14-STI: Orchestral parts
(Stringparts 3|2|1|1|1)
ISMN 979-0-50025-187-3


B 14-RVB: Critical report
by Rüdiger Bornhöft (2000)
ISBN 978-3-900270-47-6 / ISMN 979-0-50025-210-8


46 007: Vocal score
by Ludwig Berberich, rev. Hans Jancik (1974)
Chorus parts (SATB)
licensed edition published by Doblinger


read on


The Requiem was Bruckner's first larger-scale composition and also his first work with orchestra. As a highly self-critical seventy-year-old, Bruckner passed judgement on the work as follows: "It is not bad!"


Missa Solemnis in B flat (1854)

Edited by Leopold Nowak (1957)


for soli (SATB), mixed chorus, orchestra and organ
0,2,0,2-2,2,3,0-Timp-Str-Org / 31'


B 15-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-192-7


B 15-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-025-8
* Orchestral parts for hire


B 15-RVB: Critical report
by Robert Haas - Leopold Nowak (1977)
ISBN 978-3-900270-01-8 / ISMN 979-0-50025-101-9


46 053: Vocal score
by Ferdinand Habel, rev. Hans Jancik (1977)
Chorus parts (SATB)
licensed edition published by Doblinger


read on


Bruckner's Missa Solemnis is a musical summa of the first thirty years of his life. Simon Sechter considered this work such convincing evidence of Bruckner's great talent as a composer that he immediately took him on as his pupil.


Mass in D minor (1864)

Edited by Leopold Nowak (1975)


for soli (SATB), mixed chorus and orchestra
2,2,2,2-2,2,3,0-Timp-Str / 50'


B 16-STP: Study score
(new edition 1996)
ISMN 979-0-50025-144-6


B 16-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-138-5


B 16-KL: Vocal score
by Ferdinand Löwe, rev. Wolfgang Gabriel (1994, new edition 2000)
ISMN 979-0-50025-217-7


B 16-CHP: Chorus score
ISMN 979-0-50025-268-9
* Orchestral parts for hire


B 16-RVB: Critical report
by Rüdiger Bornhöft (1999)
ISBN 978-3-900270-45-2 / ISMN 979-0-50025-208-5


read on


'Perhaps the best indication of the high regard in which Bruckner held this mass is his use of the "miserere"-motif from the Gloria in the Adagio of the Ninth Symphony. He could think of no more fitting music for his farewell to life itself than the humbly pleading six-four chord sequences of his days in Linz." (Leopold Nowak)

Mass in E minor

for eight-part mixed chorus and winds (1866)
Edited by Leopold Nowak


First version (1866)

0,2,2,2-4,2,3,0 / 40'


B 17/1-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-027-2


B 17/1-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-276-4


B 17/1-STI: Instrumental parts
ISMN 979-0-50025-278-8


B 17/1-CHP: Chorus score
ISMN 979-0-50025-277-1


read on


The Mass in E minor was first performed under Bruckner's baton for the consecration of the votive chapel of the new cathedral in Linz, and is a work without parallel in either 19th- or 20th-century church music. Bruckner later subjected it to far-reaching revision.


Second version (1882)

0,2,2,2 - 4,2,3,0 / 40'


B 17/2-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-028-9


B 17/2-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-075-3


B 17/2-KL: Vocal score
by Cyrill Hynais, rev. von Karlhans Urbanek (1985)
ISMN 979-0-50025-074-6


B 17/2-STI: Instrumental parts
ISMN 979-0-50025-124-8


B 17/2-CHP: Chorus score
ISMN 979-0-50025-269-6


read on


'Even as Bishop Rudigier was laying the foundation stone for a new cathedral, Bruckner too was beginning to raise a cathedral in music – his nine symphonies, fronted by the gigantic portal of his three masses.' (Leopold Nowak)


B 17-RVB: Critical report
on all versions by Paul Hawkshaw
in preparation

Mass in F minor (1867/68, 1883/93)

Edited by Paul Hawkshaw (2005)


for soli (SATB), mixed chorus and orchestra
2,2,2,2-2,2,3,0-Timp-Str-Org ad lib. / 62'


B 18-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-251-1


B 18-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-252-8


B 18-CHP: Chorus score
ISMN 979-0-50025-254-2
* Orchestral parts for hire


B 18-RVB: Critical report
by Paul Hawkshaw
Format 17 x 23 cms, 328 pages, sewn in soft covers, with numerous facsimile reproduction
ISBN 978-3-900270-57-5 / ISMN 979-0-50025-236-8 


46 055: Vocal score
by Josef Schalk, rev. Hans Jancik (1962)
licensed edition published by Doblinger


read on


The Mass in F minor was commissioned for the Vienna Court Chapel. Since its first performance under the composer on 16 June 1872, the work has earned a secure place in church and concert repertoire.


This new edition, in keeping with current musicological research, reflects more recently discovered sources in addition to older ones. For the first time, the two versions that Bruckner considered to be the definitive ones, those of 1883 and 1893, are presented together in one volume. This not only facilitates the direct comparison of the two variants for study purposes, but also provides the performers with the opportunity to choose between the two versions.


Te Deum in C major (1884)

Edited by Leopold Nowak


for soli (SATB), mixed chorus and orchestra
2,2,2,2-4,3,3,1-Timp-Str-Org ad lib./ 24'


B 19-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-193-4


B 19-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-030-2


B 19-KL: Vocal score
by Josef Schalk, rev. von Hans Jancik (1862)
ISMN 979-0-50025-079-1


B 19-CHP: Chorus score
ISMN 979-0-50025-270-2
* Orchestral parts for hire


read on


Even in Bruckner's own lifetime, the Te Deum swiftly scored triumphant successes all around the world. The composer himself called the work 'the pride of his life'.