Complete Edition (until 2014)

Early orchestral and instrumental works

Works for solo piano (1850-1869)

edited by Walburga Litschauer (1988)


Lancier-Quadrille / Steiermärker / Klavierstück in E flat major / Stille Betrachtung an einem Herbstabend / Fantasie / Erinnerung.
Appendix: Sonata in G minor, first movement (sketch)


B 12/2: Revised edition with critical report (2000)
ISMN 979-0-50025-213-9


B 12/2,3,7-STP: Study score (with B 12/3 and B 12/7)
ISMN 979-0-50025-274-0


Piano works for four hands (1853-1855)

edited by Walburga Litschauer (1994)


Drei kleine Stücke [Three short pieces; for children] / Quadrille


B 12/3: with critical report
ISMN 979-0-50025-021-0


B 12/2,3,7-STP: Study score (with B 12/2 and B 12/7)
ISMN 979-0-50025-274-0


Abendklänge for violin and piano (1866)

edited by Walburga Litschauer (1995)


B 12/7: with critical report
ISMN 979-0-50025-128-6


B 12/2,3,7-STP: Study score (with B 12/2 and B 12/3)
ISMN 979-0-50025-274-0


Organ Works

edited by Erwin Horn (2001)


Nachspiel [Postlude] in D minor / Andante in D minor / Vorspiel und Fuge [Prelude and fugue] in C minor / Fugue in D minor / Prelude in C major ('Perger Präludium');
Themes for improvisation.
Appendix: Five pieces in E flat major, probably not by Bruckner


B 12/6
ISMN 979-0-50025-183-5


B 12/6-RVB: Critical report
by Erwin Horn
ISBN 978-3-900270-49-0 / ISMN 979-0-50025-205-4


read on


In the course of his research, Erwin Horn not only made a wealth of new findings, but also came across a number of autographs (Bruckner's own fair copies) hitherto thought to be lost.


This volume also contains facsimile reproductions of all the extant musical autograph pages.


Rondo in C minor for string quartet (1862)

First printed edition, ed. Leopold Nowak (1985)


B 12/1-STP: Study score
ISMN 979-0-50025-019-7


B 12/1-STI: Parts
ISMN 979-0-50025-070-8


Bruckner wrote this work as his answer to a composition exercise.

Four orchestral pieces (1862)

Edited by Hans Jancik und Rüdiger Bornhöft (1996)


March in D minor
2,2,2,2-2,2,3,0-Timp-Str / 4'


Three Pieces for orchestra
2,2,2,2,-2,2,1,0-Timp-Str / 9'


B 12/4-STP: Study score with critical report
ISMN 979-0-50025-129-3


74 001: Conductor’s score / Orchestral parts
licensed edition published by Doblinger


read on


Bruckner composed these 'miniatures' during his studies with Otto Kitzler. Their place in Bruckner's symphonic work is naturally a modest one, but they are his first genuine orchestral works and as such are worthy of attention and performance.


Overture in G minor (1863)

Edited by Hans Jancik and Rüdiger Bornhöft (1996)


1,Picc,2,2,2- 2,2,3,0-Timp-Str / 12'


B 12/5-STP: Study score with critical report
ISMN 979-0-50025-130-9


B 12/5-DIR: Conductor’s score
ISMN 979-0-50025-140-8


B 12/5-STI: Orchestral parts
ISMN 979-0-50025-141-5


read on


This work was written as a compositional exercise in the course of Bruckner's studies in musical form and instrumentation with Otto Kitzler. It undeniably shows the influence of Mendelssohn and Schumann, but it would be going too far to hear the influence of Wagner, whose Tannhäuser Kitzler conducted in Linz in 1863.


March in E-flat major for military band (1865)

Edited by Rüdiger Bornhöft (1996)


Appendix: Apollo-Marsch, wrongly attributed to Bruckner
Fl(D flat/A flat), 2Cl(E flat), 3Cl(B flat), 3Hr(F), 2Flhr(B flat), 5Tpt(E flat), 2Trp(B flat), 3Euph, 2Tbn, 2B.Tb., S.D. & B.D., Timp


B 12/8-STP: Study score with critical report
ISMN 979-0-50025-131-6


B 12/8-STI: Parts
ISMN 979-0-50025-154-5


read on


The Apollo-Marsch was for a long time thought to be by Bruckner, but in 1984 Werner Probst proved that it was originally composed by Kéler Béla as the 'Mazzuchelli-Marsch', of which the Apollo-Marsch is simply Bruckner's orchestration.