Complete Edition (until 2014)

Symphony No. 8 in C minor

First Version (1887)

edited by Leopold Nowak (1972)
3,3,3,3,-8 (5-8+WagnerTb),3,3,1-Timp.Trgl.Cym-2-3Hp-Str / 90'


B 8/1-STP: Study score (revised edition 1992)
ISMN 979-0-50025-013-5


B 8/1-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-179-8


* Performance material for hire


read on


Since Leopold Nowak's publication of the first version of the Eighth, it has become generally accepted that the various versions are all authentic works in their own right, reflecting a "conceptual transformation" in Bruckner's symphonic writing. The first complete performance of Bruckner's Eighth Symphony in the 1887 version took place in London on 2 September 1973 under the baton of Hans-Hubert Schönzeler.

Second Version (1890)

edited by Leopold Nowak (1955)
3,3,3,3,-8(5-8+WagnerTb),3,3,1- Timp.Trgl.Cym.- 2-3Hp-Str / 86'


B 8/2-STP: Study score (revised edition 1994)
ISMN 979-0-50025-014-2


B 8/2-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-171-2


* Performance material for hire


read on


In his day, Robert Haas endeavoured to compile an 'optimum' version of the Eighth from both scores; Leopold Nowak, by contrast, believed it quite possible to discern Bruckner's final preferences – particularly in the case of the Eighth – and was adamant that the "correction" of Bruckner scores to bring them into line with time-hallowed notions of how they should sound was no longer to be tolerated.


Critical report

on all versions by Paul Hawkshaw
in English, includes detailed introduction in German


Volume I:
Text (440 pages)
Volume II: Facsimile (228 pages)
ISBN 978-3-900270-74-2 / ISMN 979-0-50025-255-9


read on


More than 80 sources are extant for Anton Bruckner's VIIIth symphony. These substantial materials are documented and commented in depth for the first time in this volume.


The separately bound facsimile volume facilitates a direct and comfortable comparison with the text volume.