Complete Edition (until 2014)

Symphony No. 5 in B flat major


Symphony No. 5 (1878)

edited by Leopold Nowak (1951)
2,2,2,2-4,3,3,1-Timp-Str / 78'


B 5-STP: Study score (3 rd revised edition 2005)
ISMN 979-0-50025-010-4


B 5-DIR: Conductor's score
ISMN 979-0-50025-250-4


* Performance material for hire


read on


This symphony lay unheard among Bruckner's manuscripts for fifteen years until 1893, when Franz Schalk decided to give the work its first performance, for which he made a variety of alterations to the original score. It took place on 20 April 1894 in Graz. The first printed edition (used for all performances until the publication of the Complete Edition score) differs substantially from Bruckner's autograph, 122 bars, for instance, being cut in the Finale alone.


Critical report

by Robert Haas - Leopold Nowak (1983)


ISBN 978-3-900270-06-3 / ISMN 979-0-50025-096-8