T H E  S Y M P H O N I E S
 First Movement - Scherzo & Trio - Adagio
Critical new edition by Benjamin Gunnar Cohrs,
drawing upon the work of Alfred Orel und Leopold Nowak (2000)
3,3,3,3,-8(5-8+WagnerTb),3,3,1-Timp-Str / 60'
B 9-STP Study score (2nd revised edition 2005) ISMN 979-0-50025-249-8
B 9-DIR Conductor's score (2nd revised edition 2005) ISMN 979-0-50025-262-7
* Performance material for hire
From Leopold Nowak's Foreword: 'The first performance of the Ninth Symphony took place in Vienna on 11 February 1903, seven years after Bruckner's death; it was Ferdinand Löwe who took this step, conducting the orchestra of the Wiener Konzertverein. He had, however, "been zealous in carrying out retouchings and changes in instrumentation throughout all of the many rehearsals," (Auer) and in the event the work was clad in a quite different overall sound from the one the composer had in mind. Löwe did all this with the best of intentions and his services to Bruckner's work as a whole are still recognized as being among the greatest that anyone has ever performed for the master of Sankt Florian. But when, on 2 April 1932, Siegmund von Hausegger and the Munich Philharmonic played the familiar version followed by the original, the invited audience were in no doubt as to how Bruckner himself had wanted his Ninth to sound.'
B 9-RVB Critical report by Benjamin Gunnar Cohrs (2001)
ISBN 978-3-900270-53-7 / ISMN 979-0-50025-222-1
  Finale Fragment (1895/96)
edited by John A. Phillips (1994)
B 9/4-STPStudy score (revised edition 1999)
ISMN 979-0-50025-211-5
B 9/4-FKSFacsimile edition of all autograph pages
ISMN 979-0-50025-133-0
B 9/4-DOK'Documentary score', specifically for use in concert performance.
ISMN 979-0-50025-232-0 (2002)
* Performance material for hire
Bruckner left the Finale of his Ninth Symphony unfinished. The consecutive numbering of the four-page manuscript sheets shows that part of the autograph material has been lost. Close examination of the existing sources refutes the notion that the extant material simply contains confused sketches; on the contrary, the numerous sketches and pages of full and short score are evidence that Bruckner was working according to a clear and bold concept. Nobody can say what shape and form Bruckner would finally have given to this his last Finale. Abstaining from speculation of any kind, the Bruckner Complete Edition reconstructs this mighty torso on the exclusive basis of the composer's autographs and a critical screening and ordering of the sources.
The 136 pages of music in the study score follow Bruckner's own pagination and are followed by six pages of the composer's sketches and notes for the coda. The German-English text section contains an instructive foreword, a chapter 'On the Edition', and synoptic charts on the sources.
B 9/2-Q Second Movement: Scherzo and Trio. Monograph.
Drafts, older Trio with viola solo, all autograph pages in facsimile (Benjamin Gunnar Cohrs)
ISMN 979-0-50025-182-8
 Published by Doblinger:
Bruckner's Symphony No. 9:
  Two posthumous trios for the Scherzo, with viola solo
Trio No. 1 in F major (1889)
Trio No. 2 in F sharp major (1893)
Edited for concert performance with a critical report
by Benjamin Gunnar Cohrs
74 015Score ISMN 979-0-012-18489-8
* Performance material for hire
In order to make Bruckner's work in its preliminary stages more accessible to concert audiences, Doblinger published an edition of the 1893 Trio carefully prepared for performance purposes, and a transcription for viola and organ, both by Benjamin Gunnar Cohrs.