O R C H E S T R A L  W O R K S
PENTHESILEA (1883-1885)
 

Symphonic poem for large orchestra
after the tragedy by Heinrich von Kleist
Edited by Hans Jancik (1971)
Picc,2,2,C.A.,2,3-4,4,3,1-Timp,Perc-Hp-Str / 25'

Departure of the Amazons for Troy
Penthesilea's dream of the rose-feast
Fights, passions, madness, destruction

W 16 Full score ISMN 979-0-50025-062-3
W 16-STP Study score ISMN 979-0-50025-263-4
 * Orchestral parts for hire
Penthesilea is Hugo Wolf's only large-scale orchestral work. The 'novelty play-through' it was given by the Vienna Philharmonic on 15 October 1886 under the baton of Hans Richter proved a bitter disappointment to the composer. The musicians laughed and Richter summed up as follows: 'Gentlemen, I would not have insisted on your playing the piece through to the end, but I wanted to take a closer look at the man who dared to write about our revered master Brahms in this way.' While the instrumentation may have its shortcomings in respect of balance, it is nevertheless way ahead of its time and the overall sound canvas is not unlike that of Richard Strauss.
'SCHERZO UND FINALE' for large orchestra (1876/77)
W 17/1 Edited by Hans Jancik (1979)
Picc,2,2,2,2-4,3,3,1-Timp,Perc-Str / 7' + 8 '
Partitur ISMN 979-0-50025-064-7
 * Performance material for hire
Only three manuscript sheets have survived from the first movement of the Symphony in B flat begun by Wolf on 26 October 1876, but the Scherzo, intended as a second movement, is fully extant. All we have of a slow third movement is a number of sketches. Wolf intended to make an arrangement of his 'Rondo capriccioso for piano' for the fourth movement, but only reached bar 357; the remaining fifth of the movement has been orchestrated by Helmut Schultz, who was careful to apply Wolf's own instrumentational technique.
ITALIAN SERENADE for small orchestra (1892)
W 17/2 Edited by Hans Jancik (1965)
2,2,2,2-2,0,0,0-Solo Vla-Str / 15'
Full score ISMN 979-0-50025-063-0
W 17/2-STISTI Instrumental parts ISMN 979-0-50025-227-6
In 1892, Wolf arranged his 'Serenade for string quartet' (W XV/3) for small orchestra, and subsequently had the idea of adding further movements to the arrangement. Extant are drafts for a slow movement and a Presto, which Wolf replaced with a Tarantella when he was confined in the Svetlinsche Anstalt asylum(W XVII/3).
ORCHESTRAL WORKS. FRAGMENTS 1876-1897
  Edited, with a critical report, by Leopold Spitzer (1998)
Orchestration of the Sonata op. 27/2 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1876)
Fragment for orchestra (1876/77)
Die Stunden verrauschen (Kinkel) for chorus, soli, and orchestra (1878)
Incidental music to Prinz Friedrich von Homburg by Heinrich von Kleist:
Melodrama / Funeral music
Christnacht. Instrumentation sketch (1889)
Karwoche. Instrumentation sketch (1889)
Auf eine Christblume I. (1890)
Wächterlied auf der Wartburg. (1894)
Italian Serenade:
2nd mvt. 'Langsam und klagend' (1893) / 3rd mvt. Tarantella (1897)
W 17/3 ISMN 979-0-50025-204-7
From July 1876 until December 1897, the month he composed the Tarantella, Wolf constantly wrote for the orchestra, partly programme music, and partly as accompaniment for vocal works. Progressive though he was as a composer, as an orchestrator Wolf was highly conservative, hardly going beyond Berlioz. That this was not due to lack of ability or creativity is clear from the instrumentation of the Elfenlied and the slow movement of Penthesilea; Wolf's conservatism sprang rather from his conviction that orchestral sound should not become an end in itself, but should rather be used exclusively in the service of the text or the 'programme'. (Leopold Spitzer)

O R C H E S T E R W E R K E
PENTHESILEA 1883-1885
 

Symphonische Dichtung für großes Orchester
nach dem Trauerspiel von Heinrich von Kleist
vorgelegt von Hans Jancik (1971)
Picc,2,2,Eh,2,3-4,4,3,1-Pk,Schlw-Hf-Str / 25'

Aufbruch der Amazonen nach Troja
Der Traum Penthesileas vom Rosenfest
Kämpfe, Leidenschaften, Wahnsinn, Vernichtung

W 16 Partitur ISMN 979-0-50025-062-3
W 16-STP Studienpartitur ISMN 979-0-50025-263-4
 * Orchesterstimmen leihweise
„Penthesilea” ist das einzige große Orchesterwerk Hugo Wolfs. Eine Novitätenprobe der Wiener Philharmoniker am 15. Oktober 1886 unter Hans Richter wurde für den Komponisten zur herben Enttäuschung. Die Musiker lachten, und Richter tat den Ausspruch: „Meine Herren, ich hätte das Stück nicht zu Ende spielen lassen, aber ich wollte mir den Mann anschauen, der es wagt, so über Meister Brahms zu schreiben.” Der Orchestersatz der Penthesilea weist trotz mancher Mängel in der Klangbalance doch weit über seine Entstehungszeit hinaus und kommt in seiner Farbigkeit in die Nähe von Richard Strauss.
SCHERZO UND FINALE für großes Orchester, 1876/77
W 17/1 vorgelegt von Hans Jancik (1979)
Picc,2,2,2,2-4,3,3,1-Pk,Schlw-Str / 7' + 8 '
Partitur ISMN 979-0-50025-064-7
 * Aufführungsmaterial leihweise
Wolf begann den ersten Satz einer Symphonie in B-Dur am 26. Oktober 1876 in Wien; erhalten geblieben sind nur 3 Blätter. Hingegen ist ein Scherzo vollständig vorhanden, das als zweiter Satz gedacht war. Zu einem langsamen dritten Satz gibt es nur Skizzen. Als Finale war eine Instrumentalfassung des „Rondo capriccioso” für Klavier vorgesehen: Wolf selbst hat sie bis zum Takt 357 geführt, die Instrumentation des letzten Fünftels besorgte Helmut Schultz unter Beibehaltung von Wolfs Instrumentationstechnik.
ITALIENISCHE SERENADE für kleines Orchester, 1892
W 17/2 vorgelegt von Hans Jancik (1965)
2,2,2,2-2,0,0,0-Solo-Vla-Str. / 15'
Partitur ISMN 979-0-50025-063-0
W 17/2-STIStimmen ISMN 979-0-50025-227-6
Im Jahre 1892 bearbeitete Wolf die „Serenade für Streichquartett” (W XV/3) für kleines Orchester. Nachfolgend trug er sich mit der Idee, dieser Serenade weitere Sätze anzufügen. Entwürfe sind vorhanden für einen langsamen Satz sowie für ein „Presto”, das Wolf dann in der Svetlinschen Anstalt durch eine „Tarantella” ersetzt hat (W XVII/3).
ORCHESTERWERKE. FRAGMENTE 1876-1897
  mit Revisionsbericht vorgelegt von Leopold Spitzer (1998)
Sonate op. 27, Nr. 2 von L. v. Beethoven, Instrumentation. 1876
Fragment für Orchester. (11876/77)
Die Stunden verrauschen (Kinkel) für Chor, Soli und Orchester. 1878
Begleitende Musik zu Heinrich von Kleist's Prinz Friedrich von Homburg:
Melodram / Trauermusik
Christnacht. Instrumentationsskizze. 1889
Karwoche. Instrumentationsskizze. 1889
Auf eine Christblume I. 1890
Wächterlied auf der Wartburg. 1894
Italienische Serenade:
2. Satz: „Langsam und klagend.” 1893 / 3. Satz: „Tarantella.” 1897
W 17/3 ISMN 979-0-50025-204-7
Vom Juli des Jahres 1876 bis zum Dezember 1897, in dem Wolf die Tarantella komponierte, hat er sich mit dem Orchester auseinandergesetzt: teils im Zusammenhang mit programmatischer Musik, teils als Begleitinstrument für Vokalwerke. So fortschrittlich Wolf als Komponist war, so konservativ verhielt er sich als Instrumentator, der kaum über Berlioz hinausging. Diese Haltung entsprang gewiss nicht einem Mangel an Kreativität und noch weniger Wolfs Unvermögen; das beweisen die Instrumentierung des „Elfenliedes” oder des langsamen Satzes der „Penthesilea”. Sie entsprang vielmehr offensichtlich Wolfs ehrlicher Überzeugung, dass der Orchesterklang sich nicht selbständig machen dürfe, sondern ausschließlich dem Wort oder dem „Programm” zu dienen habe. (Leopold Spitzer)