T H E   S Y M P H O N I E S
SYMPHONY No. 1 IN C MINOR
  'Linz Version' (1866)
edited by Leopold Nowak (1953)
3,2,2,2-4,2,3,0-Timp-Str / 48'
B 1/1-STP Study score ISMN 979-0-50025-000-5
B 1/1-DIR Conductor's score ISMN 979-0-50025-164-4
* Performance material for hire
Bruckner later dubbed his First Symphony 'das kecke Beserl' (Austrian slang, roughly 'brazen little minx'), aptly capturing the high-spirited aspects of the work, which was composed shoulder-to-shoulder with the three great masses. The audience at the first performance, conducted by Bruckner in Linz in 1868, were amazed at the wealth of unprecedented musical material, but their reaction was generally positive. Until Robert Haas published the 'Linz Version' in 1935 in the old Bruckner Complete Edition, later generations only knew the First in Bruckner's revision of 1890/91.
It is a fact that Anton Bruckner composed a number of his works several times over; the First, the Second, the Third, the Fourth and the Eighth all exist in two or even three fundamentally different manuscript scores, and it is not just a matter of 'different readings' or 'improvements' made to individual passages (which could after all be incorporated into a critical report), but rather of quite independent treatments and developments of what is in most cases the same thematic material.
 Adagio (original version of 1865/66, fragment)
Scherzo (earlier composition of 1865)

edited by Wolfgang Grandjean (1995)
B 1/1A-STP Study score with critical report ISMN 979-0-50025-069-2
Bruckner at first conceived the slow movement of the First in classical sonata form with development, but for the Linz version he finally decided in favour of a three-part structure with an elaborately composed middle section. The autograph of the original Adagio (now in the Music Collection of the Austrian National Library), still without trumpets or trombones, breaks off at bar 154 in the recapitulation of the second subject. One sheet of the score still exists from the close of the movement (from bar 12 of the recapitulation of the second subject) using trumpets and trombones, thus representing a transitional stage between the original Adagio and that of the Linz version.

The last score page of the first Scherzo and Trio is inscribed 'München 25. Mai 1865' – at the time Bruckner was in Munich for the first performance of Wagner's Tristan und Isolde. For the Linz version he wrote a completely new Scherzo, but kept the Trio unchanged.

  'Vienna Version' (1890/91)
edited by Günter Brosche (1980)
3,2,2,2-4,2,3,0-Timp-Str / 50'
B 1/2-STP Study score (revised edition 1994) ISMN 979-0-50025-001-2
B 1/2-DIR Conductor's score ISMN 979-0-50025-175-0
* Performance material for hire
On November 7 1891, Bruckner was awarded an honorary doctorate of the University of Vienna. He clearly set great store by this honour paid to his work 'as a symphonist'; in gratitude he dedicated his First Symphony, which he had finished revising some months before quite independently of the honorary doctorate, to the University Senate.
B 1-RVB Critical report by Thomas Röder on all versions.
ISBN 978-3-900270-84-1 / ISMN 979-0-50025-258-0 in preparation
 
 Furthermore, published by Doblinger:
  Adagio, original version of 1865/66, fragment,
completed for performance by Wolfgang Grandjean;
Scherzo, earlier composition 1865,
edited by Wolfgang Grandjean.
3,2,2,2-4,0,0,0-Timp-Str
74 014 Score / Parts
For performance purposes, the missing bars of the original slow movement of the First Symphony have been filled in by Wolfgang Grandjean using the corresponding musical material from the Linz version. Performance material for this preliminary Adagio and for the Scherzo which Bruckner later rejected (together with the Trio) are available from Doblinger.

S Y M P H O N I E N
I. SYMPHONIE C-MOLL
 Linzer Fassung 1866
vorgelegt von Leopold Nowak (1953)
3,2,2,2-4,2,3,0-Pk-Str / 48'
B 1/1-STP Studienpartitur ISMN 979-0-50025-000-5
B 1/1-DIR Dirigierpartitur ISMN 979-0-50025-164-4
* Aufführungsmaterial leihweise
Bruckner hat seine I. Symphonie später das „kecke Beserl” genannt und damit treffend die übermütigen Züge des Werkes gekennzeichnet, welches in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu den drei großen Messen entstanden ist. Die von Bruckner 1868 in Linz dirigierte Uraufführung löste Erstaunen über die Fülle ungewohnter Musik aus, das Echo war aber insgesamt positiv. Der Nachwelt war die I. Symphonie bis zum Jahre 1935, in welchem Robert Haas die „Linzer Fassung” in der alten Bruckner-Gesamtausgabe vorlegte, nur in der späteren Umarbeitung von 1890/91 bekannt.
Tatsächlich hat Anton Bruckner einzelne seiner Werke mehrmals komponiert; die Symphonien I, II, III, IV und VIII liegen in zwei bzw. drei voneinander grundlegend abweichenden Partiturniederschriften vor. Es handelt sich dabei nicht lediglich um „Lesarten” oder „Verbesserungen” einzelner Passagen (solche könnten in einem Revisionsbericht Platz finden), sondern um höchst eigenständige Ausformungen des (meist) gleichen thematischen Materials.
 Adagio ursprüngliche Fassung 1865/66, Fragment
Scherzo ältere Komposition 1865

vorgelegt von Wolfgang Grandjean (1995)
B 1/1A-STP Studienpartitur mit Revisionsbericht ISMN 979-0-50025-069-2
Bruckner hat den langsamen Satz seiner I. Symphonie zunächst als klassischen Sonatensatz mit Durchführung konzipiert, schließlich aber für die Linzer Fassung eine dreiteilige Form mit kunstvoll gestaltetem Mittelteil gewählt. Das in der Musiksammlung der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek aufbewahrte Autograph des ursprünglichen Adagios (es verwendet noch keine Trompeten und Posaunen!) bricht mit Takt 154 in der Reprise des 2. Themas ab. Vom Schluss des Satzes (ab Takt 12 der Reprise des 2. Themas) hat sich ein Partiturbogen erhalten, der Trompeten und Posaunen mit einbezieht und ein Stadium zwischen dem ursprünglichen Adagio und jenem der Linzer Fassung dokumentiert.

Die letzte Partiturseite der ersten Komposition von Scherzo und Trio trägt die Angabe „München 25. Mai 1865” - Bruckner weilte zur Uraufführung von Wagners „Tristan und Isolde” in München. Er schrieb dann für die Linzer Fassung ein völlig neues Scherzo; das Trio behielt er unverändert bei.
 Wiener Fassung 1890/91
vorgelegt von Günter Brosche (1980)
3,2,2,2-4,2,3,0-Pk-Str / 50'
B 1/2-STP Studienpartitur (verbesserte Auflage 1994) ISMN 979-0-50025-001-2
B 1/2-DIR Dirigierpartitur ISMN 979-0-50025-175-0
* Aufführungsmaterial leihweise
Am 7. November 1891 war Bruckner von der Universität Wien zum Ehrendoktor der Philosophie promoviert worden. Da er großen Wert darauf legte, diese Würde für sein Schaffen „als Symphoniker” verliehen bekommen zu haben, dankte er dem Senat mit der Widmung seiner I. Symphonie, deren Umarbeitung einige Monate zuvor unabhängig vom Ehrendoktorat abgeschlossen worden war.
B 1-RVB Revisionsbericht von Thomas Röder zu allen Fassungen
ISBN 978-3-900270-84-1 / ISMN 979-0-50025-258-0 in Vorbereitung
 
 Im Verlag Doblinger zu Bruckners I. Symphonie:
 Adagio, ursprüngliche Fassung 1865/66, Fragment
für Aufführungszwecke ergänzt von Wolfgang Grandjean
Scherzo, ältere Komposition 1865
vorgelegt von Wolfgang Grandjean
3,2,2,2-4,0,0,0-Pk-Str
74 014 Partitur / Stimmen
Für Aufführungszwecke hat Wolfgang Grandjean die fehlenden Takte des ursprünglichen langsamen Satzes der I. Symphonie durch die entsprechenden Noten der Linzer Fassung ergänzt. Das Aufführungsmaterial zu dieser Adagio-Vorform und zum später verworfenen Scherzo (mit Trio) ist vom Verlag Doblinger zu beziehen.